06/06/2009 (P1648)
Contact: Ken Martin

APS 2009 Election Results

Also available in pdf format

The members of the American Philatelic Society have elected a new slate of officers.The results of the 2009 election were announced Saturday, June 9, by Karl K. Brown, chairman of the Board of Elections. There were 3,896 valid ballots.

Wade E. Saadi, New York, was elected as president and received 3,585 votes. Others received 43 votes.
In the race for the three-member board of vice presidents, the slate of Nicholas A. Lombardi, New Jersey; Steven J. Rod, New Jersey; and, David L Straight, Missouri, with a total of 3,572 votes, was elected. Others received 11 votes.

In the race for APS secretary, Steve Zwillinger, Maryland, won with 2,470 votes. George DeKornfeld, New York, garnered 1,191 votes. Others received 7 votes.
Vying for the position of APS treasurer, W. Danforth Walker, Maryland, won with 2,146 votes. Douglas N. Clark, Massachusetts, received 1,622 votes. Others received 2 votes.

Six candidates ran for four director-at-large positions. Elected to those four positions were Wayne L. Youngblood, Wisconsin , 2,958 votes; Joann Lenz, Michigan, 2,938 votes; Denise L. Stotts, Texas, 2,423 votes; and Robert P. Odenweller, New Jersey, 2,334 votes. Other candidates for director-at-large were Michael Dixon, Oregon, 2,082 votes; and James C. Cate, Tennessee, 1,383 votes. Others received 20 votes.

Elected by APS members to serve a six-year term as a trustee of the American Philatelic Research Library was Peter D. Martin, Connecticut, who garnered 1,997 votes. Larry Nix, Wisconsin, received 1,719 votes. Others received 4 votes.

In addition to Karl K Brown, the other APS members serving on the board of elections were James G. Boyle and Donald G. Smith.

The APS membership approved the proposed bylaw changes 3,391 to 229.

The Library Trustee elected by the Founder Patrons to serve a six year term was Stephen D. Schumann, California, who garnered all 45 votes.

The new slate of APS officers will be installed at the conclusion of the Society’s General Membership Meeting, scheduled for 9 a.m., Saturday August 8, 2009, during the American Philatelic Society’s 123rd Annual Convention and StampShow 2009 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.