07/12/2010 (P1669)
Contact: Ken Martin

Charles J. Peterson Philatelic Literature
Life Achievement Award

The American Philatelic Society has established the Charles J. Peterson Philatelic Literature Life Achievement Award, in honor of his devoted service to the Society, the American Philatelic Research Library, and the hobby of stamp collecting.

Charlie Peterson virtually invented philatelic literature competitions, nationally and internationally. During his Army service in Germany, a revival of his boyhood interest in stamp collecting led him to assemble an impressive collection of German stamps. While in Europe, he attended international stamp shows and qualified to judge philatelic literature and stamp collections. He helped write the regulations for exhibiting philatelic literature, as well as editing a variety of newsletters, journals, and books.

Charlie Peterson achieved philately's highest honors, including the APS John N. Luff Award and Roll of Distinguished Philatelists recognition, but most importantly he uplifted the quality and refinement of our hobby's publications. Charlie served for many years as Chairman of the FIP Literature Competition. Through his work in crafting the criteria for judging philatelic literature, his tenure as editor of the Philatelic Literature Review, service as president of APS Writers Unit 30, and work as proprietor of the WU30 Literature Critique Service, he set high standards of achievement for others to follow.

This award will recognize an individual's achievements in furthering philatelic knowledge through philatelic literature. These achievements may be the result of publication in either traditional print and/or electronic formats, editorship, or the judging of philatelic literature. The five-person selection committee will be comprised of the current and former APRL presidents, supplemented by members nominated by the APS President. The Charles J. Peterson Philatelic Literature Life Achievement Award will be presented annually at APS StampShow, with the first presentation to be awarded at the 2011 show in Columbus, Ohio.