06/11/2011 (P1690)
Contact: Ken Martin

APS 2011 Election Results

The members of the American Philatelic Society have elected a new slate of officers.  The results of the 2011 election were announced Saturday, June 11. 4,498 ballots were received of which 4,488 were valid.

Wade E. Saadi, New York, was elected as president and received 4,261 votes. Others received 30 votes.

For the three-member board of vice presidents, Mark E. Banchik, New York; Nicholas A. Lombardi, New Jersey; and, Stephen Reinhard, New York, were elected with a total of 4,253 votes. Others received 9 votes.

For secretary Ken Grant, Wisconsin, was elected with 4,276 votes.  Eight votes were cast for others.  For treasurer, Kathryn J. Johnson, Illinois, was elected with 4,268 votes. Others received 6 votes for treasurer.

Seven candidates ran for four director-at-large positions. Elected to those four positions were Kristin Patterson, California, 2,888 votes; Steve Zwillinger, Maryland, 2,691 votes; Edgar J. Hicks, Nebraska , 2,661 votes; W. Danforth Walker, Maryland, 2,360 votes.  Other candidates for director-at-large were Yamil H. Kouri, Massachusetts, 2,252 votes; Dwayne Littauer, Louisana, 2,103 votes; and Dan David Price, Florida, 1,544 votes. Others received 27 votes.

Elected by APS members to serve a six-year term as a trustee of the American Philatelic Research Library was Patricia Stilwell-Walker, Maryland, who garnered 4,144 votes. Others received 9 votes.

The APS membership approved the proposed bylaw changes 3,996 to 181.

In a separate election the Founders, Patrons and Vooys Fellows of the American Philatelic Research Library elected Roger G. Schnell as an APRL Trustee with 36 votes.  One vote was cast for another individual.

The new slate of APS officers will be installed at the conclusion of the Society’s General Membership Meeting, scheduled for 9 a.m., Saturday August 13, 2011, during the American Philatelic Society’s 125th Annual Convention and StampShow 2011 in Columbus, Ohio.