08/24/2012 (P1709)
Contact: Dana Guyer

Winning Exhibits at APS StampShow 2012

Gordon Eubanks receiving his award
from Wade Saadi, APS President.

Attendees of the American Philatelic Society’s, StampShow 2012, held August 16–19 in Sacramento, California, were treated to a spectacular array of exhibits.

Gordon Eubanks won the Benjamin and Naomi Wishnietsky World Series of Philately Champion of Champions Award for his showing of “First Federally Issued Postage Stamps.” Eubanks’ entry was judged the best of the thirty Grand award-winning exhibits that had been shown at World Series of Philately shows from the previous year.

The Grand Award in the Open Competition was won by William H. Lenarz for “Presidente Adhesives with Legend ‘CHILE CORREOS,’ 1911–1936,” which also received the American Philatelic Society 1900–1940 Medal of Excellence. The National Stamp Dealers Association Most Popular Award went to “New World Inhabitants,” shown by Dale and Michael Ritter.

Honors for the Single-Frame Grand Award went to “Philippines: 1948 Embossed Postal Envelope — From Model to Final Die” by Richard Miggins. It also received an Errors, Freaks, & Oddities Collectors Club First, United Postal Stationery Society Single Frame Award, and United States Possessions Philatelic Society Single Frame Award.

The Bonnie and Rich Drews Youth Grand and a Gold medal went to “U.S. Domestic Rates for First Class Surface Postal and Post Cards Between 1873 and Today” by Annika Fillion, which also won the American Association of Philatelic Exhibitors Youth First Award.

The APS Writers Unit #30 Grand Award in the Literature competition went to Fred Gregory for his handbook Hawaii Foreign Mail to 1870.

StampShow was co-sponsored by the United States Postal Service.  The Best Revenue Exhibit was sponsored by Eric and Tami Jackson.

The complete results for the regular and literature exhibitions are available.

The next World Series Champion of Champions competition will be held at APS StampShow in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, August 8–11, 2013.