APS Honors Outstanding Service to the APS with 2019 Luff Award

APS Honors Outstanding Service to the APS with 2019 Luff Award

2019 Luff Award: Outstanding Service to the APS

Since 1940, the Luff Award has been the most prestigious award that the American Philatelic Society can offer to living philatelists. On August 3rd, at the 2019 StampShow / National Topical Stamp Show Celebration Banquet in Omaha, Nebraska, the Society will continue this time-honored tradition by awarding Kathryn J. Johnson with the Luff Award for Outstanding Service to the American Philatelic Society.

Kathryn J. Johnson, APS Member 89,695 (1976) JohnsonK

Around 2009 as part of the Long Range Planning Committee Kathy Johnson agreed to spend a week at the APS Headquarters with the goal of saving the APS from severe financial strains. Her week with an expert management opinion on what to do to save the APS was totally successful and resulted in a six figure savings to the APS without major reductions in the services the APS provided to its members. The most easy to verify and telling documentation of the changes she was able to make to the APS was in a simple chart of the cash flow of the APS before and after her recommendations were implemented.

 Specific Services Provided

  • Youth Columnist for The American Philatelist late 70's - 1982
  • Director at Large, Dec 2009 - 2011
  • Treasurer, 2011 - 2013
  • APS Finance Committee, 2010 - 2016
  • APS Long Range Planning Committee, 2009 - present
  • APS Membership Committee, 2009 - present
  • APS Accredited Judge since 2012
  • Member, Committee for Accreditation of National Exhibitions and Judges (2016 - present)


The Luff Award

The Luff Award was established in 1940 in memory of John N. Luff, APS president from 1907 to 1909, who was considered the most prominent American philatelist of his era.

The APS Luff Awards are available annually for:

  • Distinguished Philatelic Research
  • Exceptional Contributions to Philately
  • Outstanding Service to the American Philatelic Society.

The Luff Awards are presented annually at StampShow, the American Philatelic Society's annual convention and exhibition. Recipients sign the Luff Award Scroll and are presented with engraved rings and individually prepared mementos.

The 2018 winner of the Outstanding Service to the American Philatelic Society was Wayne Youngblood. Youngblood served three terms on the APS board as director-at-large and two terms as secretary. He has served as an expert for the American Philatelic Expertizing Service since 1990, providing opinions on about 2,500 items. He has been a columnist for The American Philatelist since October 2004. He has served as an APS Summer Seminar instructor all but one year since 1990. 


Learn more about the Luff Awards and read about previous Luff recipients. The full list of this year's award recipients is available in the July issue of the American Philatelist.

StampShow 2019 is the biggest stamp convention of the year. Learn more about this year's show.


Follow the American Philatelic Society on Instagram and Twitterlike our page on Facebook, and subscribe to our Youtube channel.


Engage with us

Great American Stamp Show

Hartford, Connecticut | August 20-23, 2020