Former APS President Janet Klug Retires from Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee

Former APS President Janet Klug Retires from Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee

WASHINGTON — Postmaster General Megan J. Brennan today named Bolivar J. Bueno as chairman of the Citizens’ Stamp Advisory Committee (CSAC), effective immediately. Bueno succeeds Janet Klug, who is retiring. BJ Bueno

Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee (CSAC) members meet quarterly to consider and recommend stamp subjects to the Postmaster General of the United States.

A member of CSAC since 2012, Bueno is a lecturer, creative strategist and expert in building brands. A resident of Kissimmee, FL, he is founder of The Cult Branding Co., a think tank that offers consumer insight strategies, leadership coaching, brand education and training, and creative development services.

Bueno has written several books on marketing and branding, including “Why We Talk: The Truth Behind Word-of-Mouth” (2007), which aims to change the way marketers think about word-of-mouth advertising.

J. KlugKlug, a noted philatelist and author, joined CSAC in 2010 and became chairman in 2014. She served as president of the American Philatelic Society from 2003-2007 and also chaired the New Initiatives Committee of the Smithsonian National Postal Museum Council of Philatelists.

A lifelong stamp collector, Klug writes regularly about stamps and collecting for Linn’s Stamp News and Scott Stamp Monthly magazine. Her articles have appeared in The American Philatelist, Stamp Collector magazine, and Global Stamp News. She also wrote the Smithsonian Guide to Stamp Collecting (2008) and 100 Greatest American Stamps (2007), co-authored with Donald Sundman. In 2014, Klug won the Luff Award for Outstanding Services to the American Philatelic Society, one of the highest distinctions offered by the APS. Read more about Klug's philatelic achievements here.

Postmaster General Brennan thanked Klug for her years of service on CSAC and to the Postal Service. “We appreciate Janet’s dedication and enthusiasm for our stamp program,” said Brennan. “We wish her well in retirement and look forward to working with Bolivar in his new role.”  

Bolivar Bueno, right, is the newest chairman of CSAC. Janet Klug, left, held the position since 2014.


Follow the American Philatelic Society on InstagramTwitter, and LinkedIn, like our page on Facebook, and subscribe to our Youtube channel.

Engage with us

Great American Stamp Show

Hartford, Connecticut | August 20-23, 2020