USSS Barbara Mueller Award

For the best article published in a single year of The American Philatelist

The award is named for the United States Stamp Society (USSS) and for one of its most prominent members, authors, and editors, Barbara R. Mueller. Among her many other honors in six decades of devotion to philately, Mueller is a member of the Hall of Fame of both the USSS and APS Writers Unit 30. She was the recipient of the APS John N. Luff Award for Distinguished Philatelic Research in 1956.

Award Criteria:

In 2007 the United States Stamp Society (USSS) founded the award not only to promote research and philatelic writing, but also to promote the USSS, its goals and its mission to the nearly 40,000 members of the APS, approximately 75 percent of whom collect U.S. material.

  • Each year the USSS-Barbara R. Mueller Award recognizes the writer(s) of the best article that appeared in The American Philatelist during the previous year.
  • The nominated article is chosen by the subcommittee from the articles that appeared in The American Philatelist the previous year.
  • The winner is announced in the August edition of the journal and the award is presented at the Society’s annual summer awards banquet.
  • The winner’s name will be added to a permanent plaque in the editorial offices of The American Philatelist.
  • The award includes a check for $1,000.


  1. The USSS-Barbara R. Mueller Award Subcommittee has the sole responsibility of recommending a nomination to the Board of Directors. The Board retains the privilege of approving or rejecting any recommendation or naming an awardee themselves.
  2. The goal is to make one recommendation to the APS Board by March 1st each year.


  1. The article must have appeared in The American Philatelist in the year prior to the year the award is to be given. The author need not be living at the time of the nomination.
  2. The article chosen shares new research or knowledge or takes previous works and creates or reworks the information with new and interesting ideas, relevant to today’s collectors.
  3. The focus of the article is on philatelic material and information with suitable philatelic illustrations, and is more than a historic or encyclopedic accounting with philatelic illustrations.
  4. The staff of The American Philatelist and Board members of the APS and APRL are ineligible for consideration of the award.
Mueller Awardee
J.S. Sawyer for
"Prisoner Mail System in KL Lublin/ Majdanek"
Appeared in the April 2020 issue
Ken Lawrence for
"What items franked with 1913 Parcel Post stamps are authentic first day covers?"
Appeared in the August 2019 issue
Kathleen Wunderly for
"The Suicide Club and Hell's Stretch"
Appeared in the May 2018 issue
Henry B. Scheuer for
Kansas-Nebraska Overprint Stamps
read the article
Jafar H. Siddiqui for
Indian Postal Stationery Overprinted for Use in Pakistan
read the article
Robert Gray for
Indian Army Postal Service in World War I
read the article
James W. Milgram for
Pasteup Usage of Western Express Franks
read the article
Dr. Jerzy W. Kupiec-Weglinski for
The Siege of Przemysl 1914-1915
read the article
Frank M. Hoak III for
U.S. Naval Ship Cancels of December 7, 1941
read the article
Maurice M. Bursey for
Confederate Wallpaper Covers from Fayetteville, NC
read the article
Howard W. Geisler for
Saarland; A German State with French Philatelic History
read the article
Tom Broadhead for
Petite Messages — The Development of Carte de Visite Mail in Nineteenth-Century France
read the article
Steven J. Berlin
& James W. Milgram
Early Mail Robberies in the United States
read the article