Charles J. Peterson
Philatelic Literature Life Achievement Award

For furthering philatelic knowledge through philatelic literature

The award is named in honor of two-time John N. Luff award recipient Charlie Peterson who set high standards in journal quality as editor of the APRL’s Philatelic Literature Review and the United States Philatelic Classics Society’s Chronicle of the U.S. Classic Postal Issues. His efforts with FIP and APS brought about the concepts of competitive literature exhibitions, and he served both nationally and internationally as a philatelic literature judge. He compiled indices for several major journals and generously mentored authors and editors throughout his career. Charlie Peterson served as president of the Writers Unit 30, the FIP philatelic literature commission, and the APRL. An accredited APS chief judge, he received the John N. Luff award in 1988 for exceptional contributions to philately, and again in 2006 for outstanding services to the APS. He signed the Roll of Distinguished Philatelists in 1991, was elected to the APS Writers Unit #30 Hall of Fame, and received numerous awards from other societies.

Award Criteria:

Established in 2010,

  • The Charlie Peterson Philatelic Literature Life Achievement Award recognizes one person whose individual achievements have furthered philatelic knowledge through philatelic literature.
  • The award will honor achievements through philatelic publication (in print or electronic media), editorship, publishing, and/or the judging of philatelic literature.
  • The winner is announced at StampShow and in the August issue of The American Philatelist.
  • The winner’s name will be added to a permanent trophy to be kept at Society Headquarters and the winner will receive a certificate of the award.


  1. Nominations must be submitted in writing to Society Headquarters in print or electronic media.
    Nomination Form available in .pdf format.
  2. The dated nomination should include the name of the nominee and the accomplishments of the person supported by appropriate documentary materials, no more than three pages.
  3. Nominations must be received by December 15th of each year.
  4. Nominations considered but not selected in a given year may be kept for a total of five years and will be considered in subsequent years.

Eligibility for the Peterson Award:

  1. Nominees must have made significant achievements in furthering philatelic knowledge through philatelic literature. The philatelic publication achievements may have been accomplished through print and/or electronic media, through editorship, and/or by the judging of philatelic literature. (The emphasis of this award is not for a one-time effort.)
  2. The nominee must be living when nominated by the subcommittee.
  3. Board members of the APS and APRL will not be eligible for consideration while in office.
  4. Staff members are not eligible for the award.
  5. Membership in the American Philatelic Society is not a prerequisite to being a nominee.
Peterson Awardee
Richard F. Winter
click to read achievements.
Anthony “Tony” S. Wawrukiewicz
click to read achievements.
Michael Laurence
click to read achievements.
Ken Lawrence
click to read achievements.
Randy L. Neil
click to read achievements.
Charles A. Fricke
click to read achievements.
Kenneth Trettin
click to read achievements.
Robert P. Odenweller
click to read achievements.
John M. Hotchner
click to read achievements.
Alan Warren
click to read achievements.
Kevin Doyle
click to read achievements.

Engage with us